Pistachios Crackers (whole wheat)

Pistachios whole wheat crackers
The sudden drop in temperature this week here in London looks like the end of autumn / arrival of the cool winter.ย  Winter, as all of you know, is the season for eating more (as compared to summer), eating rich foods, and keeping warm. With the same intentions every year, I do prepare a lot of items with the so-called warm ingredients e.g., ghee, sesame seeds, pistachios, almonds, and figs.

So this weekend I picked up whole wheat and Pistachio to prepare crackers/cookies to enjoy over the winters but the whole experiment resulted in Crackers ๐Ÿ™‚ At this point, I want to clarify that there is no regret as the Crackers came out excellently tasty/flavourful. I will give you guys the context on as to how this thing happened and hopefully you will understand – I had collected all ingredients on my kitchen platform and, prepared dough for the whole wheat based crackers. Then I got a skype call from my Mumma in India. I thus got busy speaking with her. Moments later, I thought that I should prepare the dough for Pistachio cookies while talking to Mumma, to save myself some time. But, as you all know, the dough for any cookies’ should not be kneaded. However I completely forgot this and went ahead with kneading the Pistachio dough. I realised my mistake when I ended the call; and thus Pistachio crackers were born instead of Pistachio cookies ๐Ÿ™‚

I also prepared some Herb crackers using the whole wheat dough, which I will publish after this post.

The Pistachio Crackers came out optimal sweet / crunchy and have been accepted happily as a great healthy snack in my home as I have made it using whole wheat flour. Additionally, Pistachios are generally good and healthy nuts rich in Vitamin E, Vitamin B, minerals and also very low in cholesterol / salt.

The ingredients for making Pistachio Crackers are :
1. Whole wheat flour : 1 cup
2. Clarified butter (Ghee) : 4 Tbsp
3. Sugar (Powdered) : 1/2 cup
4. Pistachios : 2 Tbsp (chopped)
5. Cardamom (Elaichi) : 1/2 tsp

Method :

Take a big bowl, and add all the ingredients. Mix them well with hands. Then add sufficient water to knead a semi firm dough. Cover this dough and let it rest for 10-15 minutes.

Preheat the oven on 200ยฐC for 15 minutes.

Take the doughย and roll it out in a large rectangle, neither too thin nor too thick. Next cut it into rectangular shapes or any other shape of your choice. Prick all these rectangular shapes/raw crackers with a fork.

Grease a baking tray with clarified butter (ghee). Place the Crackers on the baking tray and bake it for 12-15 minutes on 200ยฐC or till they become light brown in colour.

Take the crackers out from the oven and let them cool down for some time. Your sweet, crunchy Pistachio Crackers are ready !

You can store these Crackers up to 3-4 weeks and enjoy them every time ๐Ÿ™‚

Insider Tips / Finer Points :

  • You may add more sugar, if you want more sweetness.
  • You have to keep an eye on the Crackers after 12 minutes as the cooking time depends on the thickness of the Crackers and, temperature may vary across ovens.
4 thoughts on “Pistachios Crackers (whole wheat)

Leave a Comment

