Leftover Khichdi Muffins

Leftover Khichdi Muffins

Khichdi is a very simple, light, healthy and easy dish prepared in almost all Indian households albeit in different names. Khichdi is the food of choice for Indian people who are ill and/or who want to have something light but nutritious. Khichdi is also prepared during Navrata (Durga Puja) celebrations.However people do not generally have Khichdi as part of their regular meals and I am definitely one of them.

Khichdi is usually made up of rice and lentils. I recently made it with rice, yellow split lentils(moong daal), with little bit of salt and turmeric powder. I will post Khichdi’s recipe soon but this post is on something else – it talks about using leftover Khichdi.

For me, this week started with fever and cold 😦  The London weather changed suddenly and as a result I caught a bit of high fever. Having slept the whole day due to fever/cold and doing nothing (not even my blog’s work), I was very depressed. Next day I made up my mind to get rid of the depression and landed myself in my kitchen to prepare something good for myself (kitchen and food are my best buddies to get rid of any negativity). But when I went to the kitchen I saw a pan full of leftover Khichdi from previous night. As I was staring at the Khichdi, the bulb of enlightenment switched on in my mind and I decided to make pancakes and muffins from the leftover Khichdi.

Now this is what is required in all home-grown budding cooks/chefs like me – the spirit of innovation, and the will to take chances !!

I am proud to share the results of my efforts, and am sure all you guys will love it !! This post covers the Khichdi Muffins, and the next one will cover Khichdi Pancakes.

The ingredients for Leftover Khichdi’s Muffins are :

  1. Leftover Khichdi : 2 cup
  2. Cheese : 1/2 cup
  3. Red Pepper : 2 Tbsp
  4. Peas : 2 Tbsp
  5. Mixed Italian Herbs : 1 Tbsp (or your choice of any Italian herb)
  6. Baking Powder : 1/4 tsp
  7. Semolina (suji) : 1 Tbsp
  8. Olive oil : 1 Tbsp
  9. Milk : 2-3 Tbsp
  10. Salt : to taste
  11. Black Pepper Powder : to taste

Method :

Take a big bowl and add all the ingredients in it. Mix all the ingredients well and beat it for 3-4 minutes so that the mixture become smooth and a little fluffy.

I have used Silicone Cups but you can use a muffin tray or the paper cups. Grease the silicone cups / muffin tray with oil / butter and fill ¾ of each cup with the mixture. Place the silicone cups on the baking tray and bake these muffins on 180°C for 35-40 minutes or. till the upper surface become a bit firm / startsto get golden brown spots.

Take out the muffins and let them cool down for 10 minutes.

Then take them out of the silicone cups and place them on a plate. Serve these healthy Khichdi Muffins with ketchup, coriander chutney, curry leaves chutney or simply enjoy with tea / coffee.

Leftover Khichdi Muffins

Insider Tips / Finer Points :

  • Feel free to add any vegetables of your choice.
  • You can replace cheese with paneer, if you want.
4 thoughts on “Leftover Khichdi Muffins

Leave a Comment

